What are the phases of the menstrual cycle?


The menstrual cycle is usually divided into two phases. The point that divides them is ovulation.

The first phase is the follicular phase, which is the time frame that begins with the first day of your bleeding, and it continues until the day before you have your LH surge. The second phase is the luteal phase, which is the time in your cycle that begins with the LH surge and ends with menstruation.

The follicular phase of the cycle can vary from woman to woman and cycle to cycle. It usually ranges from 14-21 days. The luteal phase is usually constant from woman to woman and from cycle to cycle and is usually 14 days in length.

Related Q&A:
What is a Luteal Phase Defect?

Related Calculator: Calculate if your luteal phase is constant

Related Member Tools: MyMonthlyCycles Fertility Cycle Phases Report and Luteal Phase Chart automatically calculates your luteal phase length using your fertility tracker data.

Wendy Fried, M.D., FACOG, FACS, is an OB/Gyn with Northern Obstetrics and Gynecology, PC in North Hills, New York

Disclaimer: The information provided in this document is for educational purposes only. It is not medical advice and is not intended as a substitute for medical advice. Only your own physician knows all the important details of your specific medical and personal history and should be the only one to give you advice regarding your own medical care. You should never disregard medical advice or delay seeking medical advice or treatment because of something you have read herein. If you have any questions whatsoever about your medical health or believe you have a medical problem or disease, you should contact your medical doctor or healthcare provider.